×

Message

fsockopen(): unable to connect to ssl://query.yahooapis.com:443 (php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Name or service not known)

 

 

*Invitation* The Israel Antiquities Authority is pleased to offer to the public another virtual Dead Sea Scrolls conference on June 6, 7, 8, and 9, 2021.

 

Join us for The Dead Sea Scrolls: A Second Public Conference co-sponsored by the Friends of the IAA with NYU Global Network for Advanced Research in Jewish Studies and Skirball Department of Hebrew & Judaic Studies. 

 

This conference follows our Dead Sea Scrolls in Recent Scholarship virtual conference in May 2020 that exceeded all expectations. More than 1500 individuals from all over the world including Bangladesh, India, Nigeria, Paraguay, and Tanzania participated in this first-ever international Dead Sea Scrolls conference.

 

More than three dozen scholars from around the world will gather online to share their research on the Dead Sea Scrolls. With the recent announcement of new Judean cave finds, including dozens of fragments of a biblical scroll from the Bar Kokhba period, this conference on the latest Dead Sea Scrolls research and findings is not to be missed. Recordings of last year's conference are available here. Registration is again free and will be required

 

Hear from international scholars and experts from the Israel Antiquities Authority, and from Israel, the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Malta, Switzerland, Denmark, and France.

 

Session topics include: Major Issues in Dead Sea Scrolls Research; the Judean Desert Caves Archaeological Project; Archaeology of Qumran; Archaeology and Sectarianism; Manuscript and Text; Aramaic and Parabiblical Texts; Legal and Sectarian Texts; Scripture, Scrolls and Second Temple Judaism; and War and Violence in the Scrolls

 

This virtual conference is presented free to the public by the Israel Antiquities Authority, Friends of the Israel Antiquities Authority and NYU, Global Network for Advanced Research in Jewish Studies & the Skirball Department of Hebrew and Judaic Studies.


For any questions about the schedule or registration process, please send an email here

THE DEAD SEA SCROLLS: A SECOND PUBLIC CONFERENCE Sponsored by:  New York University 

Global Network for Advanced Research in Jewish Studies  

Skirball Department of Hebrew and Judaic Studies  

The Israel Antiquities Authority 

Friends of the Israel Antiquities Authority 

Sunday June 6, 2021  

11:00 - 11:30 AM EDT [6:00 - 6:30 PM IDT]: Opening Session 

Presiding Chair and Opening Remarks 

Alex Jassen, Chair, Skirball Department of Hebrew & Judaic Studies, New York University Greetings 

Andrew D. Hamilton, President New York University 

Gideon Avni, Head Scientist, Israel Antiquities Authority 

Emily Master, Friends of the Israel Antiquities Authority  

Joe Uziel, Head of the Dead Sea Scrolls Unit, Israel Antiquities Authority 

11:30 AM – 1:00 PM EDT [6:30 - 8:00 PM IDT]: Report on the Judean Desert Caves  Archaeological Project 

Chair: Ilit Cohen-Ofri, Israel Antiquities Authority 

The Judean Desert Caves Archaeological Project: Goals, Methodology and Achievements  Eitan Klein, Israel Antiquities Authority 

Excavations in Murabba`at Cave 4: Preliminary Insights  

Haim Cohen, Israel Antiquities Authority

“And I will bring them to dwell in Jerusalem”: New Fragments of the Greek Minor Prophets  Scroll (8HevXII gr) 

Oren Ableman and Beatriz Riestra, Israel Antiquities Authority 

1:00 - 1:30 PM EDT [8:00 - 8:30 PM IDT]: Break 

1:30 - 3:30 PM EDT [8:30 - 10:30 PM IDT]: Major Issues in Dead Sea Scrolls Research  Chair: Angela Kim Harkins, Boston College 

Scribal Text Groups among the Bible Manuscripts Found in the Judean Desert Emanuel Tov, Hebrew University of Jerusalem 

Evidence for Scribal Apprenticeship and Education at Qumran 

Sidnie White Crawford, University of Nebraska 

What Do We Know about the Teacher of Righteousness? 

John J. Collins, Yale University 

Troops of Light: Militant Prayer and Ritual Cursing in the Dead Sea Scrolls 

Daniel Falk, Penn State University 

Monday, June 7, 2021 

9:00 - 10:30 AM EDT [4:00 - 5:30 PM IDT]: Archaeology of Qumran 

Chair: Molly Zahn, University of Kansas 

Qumran in the Late Hellenistic Period: An Archaeological Reassessment. 

Dennis Mizzi, University of Malta 

To Sit or to Squat? The Qumran Toilet Revisited 

Jodi Magness, University of North Carolina 

Searching for Qumran Cave 6Q 

Marcello Fidanzio, Faculty of Theology, Lugano

2   10:30 - 11:00 AM EDT [5:30 - 6:00 PM IDT]: Break 

11:00 AM - 12:30 PM EDT [6:00 - 7:30 PM IDT]: Archaeology and Sectarianism Chair: Jodi Magness, University of North Carolina 

The Archaeology of Sectarianism: Social Analysis of Khirbet Qumran 

Eyal Regev, Bar-Ilan University 

The Gate of the Essenes in Jerusalem 

Timothy H. Lim, University of Edinburgh 

A Comprehensive Analysis of the Tefillin (Phylacteries) Assemblage from the Judean Desert: A  Work-in-Progress 

Yonatan Adler, Ariel University 

12:30 - 1:00 PM EDT [7:30 - 8:00 PM IDT]: Break 

1:00 - 3:00 PM EDT [8:00 - 10:00 PM IDT]: Launching the Qumranica (SQE) Virtual Scholarly  Environment  

Chair: Esther Chazon  

Scripta Qumranica Electronica: The Vision, Concept, and Challenges of a New Online Platform  for the Dead Sea Scrolls 

Reinhard Kratz, University of Göttingen and Pnina Shor, Israel Antiquities Authority 

A Short Tour of the Qumranica Platform 

Bronson Brown deVost, University of Göttingen 

Digital and Material Reconstruction of Highly Fragmentary Scrolls 

Jonathan Ben-Dov, Tel Aviv University and Eshbal Ratzon, Ariel University 

Towards a New Edition of 4QInstruction: The Case of the Prologue 

Asaf Gayer, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

3  Tuesday, June 8, 2021 

9:00 - 11:00 AM EDT [4:00 - 6:00 PM IDT]: Manuscript and Text 

Chair: Eileen Schuller, McMaster University 

Do 11Q19 and 11Q20 Represent Different Recensions of the Temple Scroll? Methodological  Considerations  

Andrew Gross, Catholic University of America 

4QpaleoExodm (4Q22) and the ‘Samaritan’ Tenth Commandment. 

Hila Dayfani, University of Oxford, Oriel College 

Pesher Habakkuk: From Behind the Scenes of a Forthcoming New Commentary Noam Mizrachi, Hebrew University of Jerusalem 

The Dead Sea Scrolls and Authorship 

George Brooke, University of Manchester  

11:00 - 11:30 AM EDT [6:00 - 6:30 PM IDT]: Break 

11:30 AM - 2:00 PM EDT [6:30 - 9:00 PM IDT]: Aramaic and Parabiblical Texts Chair: Joseph Angel. Yeshiva University 

A God’s-Eye View: The Perception of Sacrifice in Aramaic Levi 

Liane Feldman, New York University 

Is There 'Poetry' in the 'Prose' of the Genesis Apocryphon? 

Moshe J. Bernstein, Yeshiva University 

Books and Writings in the Aramaic Texts from Qumran 

Devorah Dimant, University of Haifa 

What Did Levi Do? 

James C. VanderKam, University of Notre Dame  

'Seal the Words of the Scroll until the Time of the End' (Daniel 12:4): Hidden Manuscripts and  the Search for a New Biblical Past 

Eva Mroczek, University of California, Davis 

4     Wednesday, June 9, 2021 

9:00 - 11:00 AM EDT [4:00 - 6:00 PM IDT]: Legal and Sectarian Texts 

Chair: Sidnie White Crawford, University of Nebraska 

'Bringing the Messiah(s) Through Law': Reflections upon Completing a New Commentary to the  Damascus Document 

Steven Fraade, Yale University 

Inter-sectarian Polemic in Miqsat Ma`asei Ha-Torah (4QMMT) 

Vered Noam, Tel Aviv University 

On Timing and Law: A Multimodal Analysis of the Maskil in 4Q259 

James M. Tucker, University of Toronto 

The Temple Scroll and Mishnah Middot: A Literary Comparison 

Lawrence H. Schiffman, New York University 

11:00 - 11:30 AM EDT [6:00 - 6:30 PM IDT]: Break 

11:30 AM - 1:00 PM EDT [6:30 - 8:00 PM IDT]: Scripture, Scrolls and Second Temple Judaism Chair: Alison Schofield, University of Denver 

Why Did Moses Stay for Forty Days and Forty Nights on Mt. Sinai? 

Ariel Feldman, Brite Divinity School 

Lived Wisdom in Early Judaism 

Elisa Uusimäki, Aarhus University 

Are the Dead Sea Scrolls Authentic? Insights from Early Qumran Scholarship 

Michael Langlois, University of Strasbourg 

1:00 - 1:30 PM EDT [8:00 - 8:30 IDT]: Break

5     1:30 - 2:30 PM EDT [8:30 - 9:30 PM IDT]: War and Violence in the Scrolls 

Chair: Liane Feldman, New York University  

“Deep into that darkness peering “: New Light on the War Scroll (1QM) 

Guy Stiebel, Tel Aviv University 

The Origins of Violence in the Dead Sea Scrolls: A Sociological Perspective 

Alex Jassen, New York University 

2:30 - 3:00 PM EDT (9:30 - 10:00 PM IDT]: Closing Remarks and Thanks 

Emily Master, Friends of the Israel Antiquities Authority 

Joe Uziel, Israel Antiquities Authority  

Lawrence H. Schiffman, New York University